0 results found in Dryburgh
Wi-Fi Available. Pets Welcome. Disabled Access. On Site Parking.
Hotels, Guest accommodation & Self Catering in Dryburgh
Dryburgh is a peaceful village on the banks of the River Tweed. Along with Dryburgh Abbey, the village has the first statue of William Wallace erected in Scotland, the first chain bridge erected in the UK, and a neo-classical temple dedicated to James Thomson, author of The Seasons and the lyrics of Rule Britannia. Dryburgh Abbey was one of the great medieval monasteries of Scotland. Substantial ruins stand in a beautiful secluded setting on the River Tweed. Remarkably, much of the monastic site is relatively intact. Dryburgh provides a wonderful glimpse into the medieval world and Historic Scotland describes the transepts as some of the best Gothic church architecture in Scotland.
In the north transept, stand the tombs of writer Sir Walter Scott and Field Marshall Earl Haig. The abbey grounds are a leafy refuge where birds and wildflowers flourish. Near the eastern end of the abbey is the 12th century Dryburgh Abbey Yew, older than the abbey itself. The yew is including among the Forestry Commission 100 Heritage Trees of Scotland. The current bridge over the River Tweed, built in 1872, is a replacement for two earlier, failed bridges on the same site. The first, commissioned and opened by David Erskine in 1818, was the first chain bridge in Britain, constructed in 1817. If you enjoy angling, the fishing in the Tweed boasts excellent fly water and a host of attractive streams and pools most of which give easy wading and which hold fish throughout spring, summer and autumn.